Membership of the Committee on Safety of Medicines (CSM) 1 January 2002 to 31 December 2004

 Professor Alasdair M Breckenridge CBE MD MSc FRCP
FRCPE FRSE FMedSci FFPM Professor of Clinical
Pharmacology, Liverpool University: CHAIRMAN
 Dr Mary Armitage BSc MB ChB DM FRCP(Edin) FRCP*
Consultant Physician, Royal Bournemouth Hospital and
Clinical Director of Medicine and Honorary Clinical
Lecturer, Southampton University
 Professor Deborah Ashby BSc MSc PhD CStat Hon. MFPHM
Hon. MRCR* Professor of Medical Statistics, London
 Dr Barbara A Bannister BSc FRCPConsultant in
Infectious and Tropical Diseases, Royal Free Hospital
 Ms Helen Barnett BPharm LicAc MBAcC* Lay
 Professor Alison Blenkinsopp BPharm PhD MRPharmS*
Director of Education & Research & Regional
Pharmaceutical Advisor, Department of Medicines
Management, Keele University
 Professor John Caldwell BPharm PhD DSc CBiol FIBiol
Hon. MRCP* Professor of Biochemical Toxicology and
Head of Division of Biomedical Sciences, Imperial
College School of Medicine, London
 Dr Robert T Calvert BSc PhD FRPharmS*## Consultant in
Pharmacy Practice, East Riding Health Authority
Consultant Paediatrician, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
and Senior Clinical Lecturer in Child Health, Bristol

Professor James K Chipman BSc PhD F I Biol FRCPath*
Professor of Cell Toxicology, Birmingham University
 Professor Janet H Darbyshire OBE MB ChB FRCP*+
Professor of Epidemiology and Director of the MRC
Clinical Trials Unit, Royal Free and University
College London Medical School, University College,
 Professor Henry J Dargie MB ChB FRCP FESC* Consultant
Cardiologist and Co-Director of CRI in Heart Failure,
Glasgow University
 Dr Michael J Donaghy D. Phil(Oxon) FRCP* Reader in
Clinical Neurology, Oxford University and Consultant
Neurologist, Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford
 Professor Gordon W Duff MA BM BCh PhD FRCP FMedSci*#
Professor of Molecular Medicine, Director of Division
of Molecular and Genetic Medicine and Medical Research
Dean, Sheffield University
 Dr J Colin Forfar BSc (Hons) MD PhD FRCPE FRCP*
Consultant Cardiologist, John Radcliffe Hospital,
Oxford, Senior Lecturer in Medicine, University of
Oxford, Director of Cardiac Medicine and Clinical
Centre Chair, Oxford Regional Heart Centre
 Professor Jennifer Hunt M. Phil BA (Hons) RGN FRCN+
Research Consultant
 Professor Donald J Jeffries BSc MBBS FRCPath#
Professor of Virology, St. Bartholomew's Hospital,
 Professor Martin J Kendall MB ChB MD FRCP* Professor
of Clinical Pharmacology, Birmingham University
Medical School
 Professor Michael J S Langman BSc MB BS MD FRCP*
Professor of Medicine, Birmingham University Medical
 Dr Rosemary Leonard MA MB, BChir MRCGP DRCOG
Principal in General Practice, London
 Mr Terence A Maguire BSc MPSNI Pharmacy Contractor,
Northern Ireland

Professor Klim McPherson BA MA PhD+ Professor of
Public Health/Epidemiology, Bristol University
 Dr Ann B Millar MD FRCP Consultant Senior Lecturer in
Respiratory Medicine, Bristol University
 Professor David Nutt DM MRCP FRCPsych* Professor of
Psychopharmacology, Bristol University
 Professor David G Cunningham Owens MD FRCP FRCPsych
Professor of Psychiatry, Edinburgh University
 Professor B Kevin Park BSc PhD Hon MRCP* Professor of
Pharmacology, Liverpool University
 Professor Munir Pirmohamed PhD FRCP Professor of
Clinical Pharmacology, Liverpool University
 Professor Stuart H Ralston MB ChB MD FRCP# Professor
of Medicine and Bone Metabolism, Aberdeen University
 Professor Terence Stephenson BSc BM BCh DM FRCP
FRCPCH* Professor of Child Health and Head of Academic
Division of Child Health Department, School of Human
Development, University Hospital, Nottingham
 Professor John F Smyth MD FRCS(Ed) FRCP(L&E)*
Professor of Medical Oncology and Head of Division of
Molecular and Clinical Medicine, University of
Edinburgh (appointed 18 October 1999)
 Dr Ross J Taylor MD FRCGP DCH FRCP (Edin)* Senior
Lecturer in General Practice, University of Aberdeen &
General Medical Practitioner Principal, Grampian
Health Board
 Dr Angela Thomas MB BS FRCP FRCPath FRCPCH Consultant
Paediatric Hematologist, Royal Hospital for Sick
Children, Edinburgh

Professor David E Thurston BSc (Hons) MRPharmS PhD##
Professor of Anticancer Drug Design, School of
Pharmacy, London University
 Professor Ian V D Weller MD FRCP* - VICE-CHAIRMAN
Professor of Genitourinary Medicine, University
College London Medical School
 Dr Patricia Wilkie PhD* Lay Representative Lay
 Dr Faith M Williams MA PhD* Reader in Biochemical
Toxicology, Department of Environmental and
Occupational Medicine, Newcastle University
 Professor Kenneth W Woodhouse MD FRCP ILTM* Professor
of Geriatric Medicine and Vice Dean of Medicine,
University of Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff
 Dr Peter A Wright MB ChB FRCPath* Consultant
Microbologist, Public Health Laboratory Service,

* = reappointed
+ = also member of the Pharmacovigilance
# = also member of the Biologicals Subcommittee
## = also member of the Chemistry, Standards and
Pharmacy Subcommittee(CPS)